Griffith celebrates recipients of 2021 Australia Day honours

2021 Australia Dayhonourshave been bestowed upona number ofGriffith Universitystaff, associates and alumni.

A former Associate Professor in Griffith’s Medical School, Dr Bruce Gregory Lister AM, has been appointed a Member of the Orderof Australia for his significant service topaediatricintensive care medicine and to professional societies.

Professor Colleen Coyne NelsonAM, an Adjunct Professor at the Griffith Institute forDrug Discovery, has also been appointed a Member of the Order of Australia,for significant service to medical research, particularlyprostate cancer, and to healthorganisations.

Griffith Vice Chancellor and President, Professor Carolyn Evans

Vice Chancellor and President of Griffith University Professor Carolyn Evans said medical research was vitally important and this had beenemphaticallyreinforced bya global pandemic.

I congratulate all award recipients who have served as staff members at Griffith and continue to contribute to the wider community through theirimportantendeavours,”Professor Evanssaid.

Never has medical researchand innovationbeen more important than in the year of a pandemic, but to knowthat valued members ofthe Griffith community havealso beenrecognisedfortheircontributions tothe fields ofmusic,engineering, justice and the law,as well as children’s literature, the film and television industry and the transport sectoris well worth celebrating.

“Recognition like this inspires our University communityand itis heartwarming to know we have such talent among us.”

Former Lecturer in Violin at Griffith’s Queensland Conservatorium, Antoni BonettiAM, was appointed an Honorary Member of the Order of Australia for his significant service to the performing arts as an orchestral conductor and musical director.

He lectured at Griffith between 1982 and 1992, also founding the Brisbane Symphony Orchestrain 1990, where heserved as Principal Conductor and Music Director.

The following Griffith University alumni and associates — both past and present — have also been recognised:

  • Judith Ann Bell AM was appointed to a Member of the Order of Australia (AM) for significant service to the administration of justice, visual arts and education.
  • Michael Bruce Hawkins AM was appointed to a Member of the Order of Australia (AM) for significant service to the film and television industry and screen content. Mr Hawkins is a member of the Griffith Film School Industry Advisory Board.
  • Dr Robyn Maria Sheahan-Bright AM was appointed to a Member of the Order of Australia (AM) for significant service to children’s literature and to the promotion of reading.
  • Jeremy David Mansfield OAM was awarded a Medal of the Order of Australia (OAM) for his service to the building and construction industry. Mr Mansfield is a current member of Griffith’s Civil Industry Reference Group and the National Sustainability Operations Manager for Lendlease Building.
  • Rosalind Williams OAM was awarded a Medal of the Order of Australia (OAM) for her service to both the law and to the performing arts. Ms Williams currently supervises law students through clinical legal training partnerships with Griffith.
  • Dr John Glover Youngman OAM was awarded a Medal of the Order of Australia (OAM) for service to medicine and medical administration.
  • Gordon James Buchanan PSM was awarded the Public Service Medal (PSM) for outstanding public service to the transport sector in Queensland.

“The individuals we celebrate … come from all parts of our great nation and have served the community in almost every way conceivable,” theGovernor-General of the Commonwealth of Australia, his Excellency General theHonourableDavid Hurley AC DSC, said.

“They’re diverse and unique but there are some common characteristics, including selflessness, commitment and dedication.

“Over thelast 12 months we have seen outstanding examples of achievement and service to the community as we have confronted fires and the COVID-19 pandemic.

“Recipients have not put their hand up to berecognised. Most would consider the achievements that they are beingrecognisedfor to be ‘ordinary’ or just what they do.

2021 Australian of the Year awards

With nominees in three of a possible four categories,GriffithUniversitywasalsowell representedheading intothe 2021 Australian of the Year awardceremony.

Griffith Healthalumnus and spinal injury researcher Dr Dinesh Palipana OAMwon the Queensland Australian of the Year award late last year, ensuringa nomination for thenational Australian of the Year title.

“It is anhonourto berecognisedamong my fellow citizens and peers,” he said.

“The Australian of the Year awards are an incredible platform to spread a good message; us coming together as a nation and saying, this is what’s important to us.

“There are some amazing people doing some incredible work.

“Life is not about taking and what you can have but about what we can give back to the world.”

Dineshwas the first quadriplegic medical graduate in Queensland and currentlyco-leadsGriffith’s innovativeBiospineproject on the Gold Coast.

Griffith Elder in ResidenceAunty McRose Eluwasnominated for Senior Australian of the Yearafter winning the Queensland category of the awards. Aunty Elu is a life member of the Griffith University Council of Elders, an advocate for Torres Strait communities and climate change activist.

Queensland Conservatoriumstudent William Clarke and his brother Daniel were also nominated forYoung Australian of the Yearawards for their conservation work, afterearlierbeing named2021 Queensland Young Australians of the Year.

The pair launched a campaign to help protect critically endangered orangutan populations in Borneo and Sumatra.