Remarkable Griffith University staff members have been recognised at the 2020 Vice Chancellor’s Awards for Excellence in Professional and Support Staff Service.

Catherine Turner receives her award for Excellence in Client Partnership (HEW 1-5).

Griffith University Vice Chancellor and President Professor Carolyn Evans said the recipients were nominated by both staff and students as individuals and teams whose contributions resulted in sustained high-level performance or a significant stand-alone achievement.

“Our Professional and Support Staff play a valuable role in the achievement of the University’s strategic goals and overall success,” Professor Evans said.

“These awards allow for the recognition of remarkable individuals and teams who have contributed to the spirit, achievements, and aspirations of Griffith University.”

More than 135 nominations were received across all areas and in addition to category winners, the panel also recommended in some cases there should also be a Highly Commended or an Honourable Mention noted.

“It is very pleasing to see so many staff nominated by their colleagues and students,” Professor Evans said.

“We offer our warmest congratulations to each staff member for their recognition.”

2020 Vice Chancellor’s Awards for Excellence in Professional and Support Staff Service winners


  • Excellence in Client Partnership (HEW 1-5)Griffith Law School Administrative Support Officer Catherine Turner
  • Excellence in Client Partnership (HEW 6-10)Australian Rivers Institute (ARI) Manager Nadine Painter

    Kamaljeet Kaur Assan receives an award for Excellence in Enhancing Teaching.

    • recognised for outstanding leadership and work ethic in handling three major disruptive events that have occurred since February 2020 and the exceptional service provided to ARI.
  • Excellence in Innovation – The Virtual Telehealth Implementation Team – Giuseppe Poli, Kara Roffey, Stephanie Beland, Bec L’Estrange, Damien Brinin, Jessica Bravo, Tegan Valentine, Shrinik Pattan, Claire Sinsua, Lyn Koo, Tim Lane, Tony Neaton, Susan Schwabb, Katrina Moore and Mark Wright
    • recognised for implementing telehealth for Griffith’s health services within seven weeks – despite being a transition that would have taken eight to 12 months under normal circumstances — to provide safe access to healthcare for patients and students during COVID-19.

      Susanne Osborne (third from left) receives her award.

  • Excellence in Equity, Diversity and InclusionOffice of the Pro Vice Chancellor (Indigenous) Senior Engagement and Project Coordinator Susanne Osborne
    • recognised for playing a critical role on the Logan campus in creating an inclusive environment where diversity is respected and reflected in the core values.
  • Excellence in Community Engagement and ServiceGriffith Sport Events Team Holly Ruhle and Erin Copeland
    • recognised for providing high quality participation opportunities at a minimal cost, showcasing the University to a variety of community stakeholders, raising funds and awareness for numerous charities, providing development opportunities for current students, and positioning Griffith as a leader in promoting active and healthy communities.
  • Excellence in Enhancing the Student Experience — myGriffith Project Team from Digital Solutions Deanna Yourrell, Lucas McBurney, Michelle Wano and Luke Austin
    • recognised for the myGriffith Upgrade project, aimed to review the existing student portal and deliver an improved user experience, including enhanced personalisation and dynamic content, and a gateway to the Virtual Learning Environment.

      David Camp is awarded for Excellence in Leadership.

  • Excellence in LeadershipSchool of Environment and Science Technical Manager David Camp
    • recognised for leading the technical team throughout COVID-19 to seamlessly support academics and researchers in their new way of working, while maintaining critical infrastructure, driving the School’s Workplace Health and Safety Group and transitioning high-profile appointments into the School.
  • Excellence in Enhancing ResearchInstitute for Glycomics Senior Operations Manager Michael Batzloff
    • recognised for his commitment to providing a safe and productive research environment, his involvement in research committees, and efforts in rapidly adapting to challenges and new opportunities brought about by COVID-19.