Griffith creative arts students and alumni are well represented in the 2020 Queensland Music Awards (QMAs) nominations.

Queensland Conservatorium popular music students and alumni have been recognised across almost every category, including rock, pop, blues and soul.

All four nominees for Best Jazz release are Queensland Conservatorium alumni, while Griffith Film School students and alumni took out three of four nominations for Best Video.

‘A clean sweep’

Associate Professor Donna Weston

Queensland Conservatorium Head of Popular Music, Associate Professor Donna Weston, said the number of student and alumni finalists was unprecedented.

“Our students and graduates have had a clean sweep of nominations in almost every category,” she said.

“All of them have persevered and worked hard towards their dream, and it’s paying off.”

Life in the fast lane

Queensland Conservatorium alumnus Georgia Potter (Moreton)

Popular music alumnus Georgia Potter’s band Moreton received three nominations, for Best Singer/Songwriter, Best Rock release and Best Video.

“Both songs we’ve released this year have been recognised at the QMAs, which is incredible,” she said.

“Brisbane is an amazing place to cut your teeth as an artist, and I’m always astonished by the quality of talent here.”

Georgia said her studies at the Queensland Conservatorium had helped propel her career forward.

“I was so lucky to have incredible teachers at the Con, and I still consider them my mentors and rely on their advice and experience,” she said.

“I loved my degree, and I think it really allowed me to fast-track my skills and growth as a writer and performer.”

Debut attracts industry buzz

Queensland Conservatorium student Micayla van Wyk (MiCCY)

Current popular music student Micayla van Wyk (MiCCY) was nominated for Best Soul/Funk/RnB release for her debut single Figure It Out – written with classmate Eunice Ladia as part of their studies at the Queensland Conservatorium.

“It’s such an honour to be nominated for a QMA while I’m still studying – it feels a little unreal and it’s very humbling,” Micayla said.

“It’s great to have my name out there and have that recognition from the music industry for my first single.”

Passion project recognised

Griffith Film School student Brendan Schoenmaker

Bachelor of Film and Screen Production student Brendan Schoenmaker is up for Best Video – one of three nominations for Griffith Film School students and alumni.

Brendan directed a stunning clip for indie artist Greta Stanley, featuring popular actor/comedian Matt Okine.

“I have a huge passion for music, and we are fortunate here at Griffith Film School to have access to amazing equipment worth hundreds of thousands of dollars,” he said.

“It is a great bargaining chip when you’re approaching an artist to work on their clip.”

He said he was thrilled to have the project recognised by the QMAs.

“We’re really excited to be nominated alongside so many talented and inspiring artists from around Queensland,” he said.

“The fact there are so many Griffith filmmakers recognised is testament to the quality of artists here and the opportunities we are given at uni.”

The Queensland Music Awards 2020 will be held at the Fortitude Music Hall on Tuesday 3 March.

Griffith students and alumni nominated for Queensland Music Awards:

Pop – Ivey (Lachlan McGuffie)
Rock – Moreton (Georgia Potter)
Heavy – Being Jane Lane (Guy Cooper)
Singer Songwriter/Folk – Moreton
Blues Roots – Bobby Alu (Charles Wall)
Electronic/Dance – The Kite String Tangle (Danny Harley)
Soul/Funk/RnB – MiCCY (Micayla van Wyk & Eunice Ladia)
Jazz – Milton Man Gough (Benjamin Shannon, Zac Sakrewski, Andrew Saragossi)
Jazz – Sean Foran
Jazz – Sophie Min / James Sherlock
Jazz – The View From Madeleine’s Couch (Owen Newcomb)
Video – Moreton (Mia Forrest)
Video – The Kite String Tangle (Caitlin Johnson, Lucas Theyer)
Video – Greta Stanley (Brendan Shoenmaker,Nicole Collett, Mungo Heath, Emma Thomas, Christopher Ashton)

Highly commended:
Electronic/Dance – Austen (Miranda Ward)
Heavy – My Inner Hyde (Michael Simms)
Regional – Bobby Alu
Regional – Isabel Wood