A host of Griffith Film School alumni have been nominated for AACTA Awards, which honour Australian screen excellence across feature film, television, documentary, short form and online.

Recognition for remarkable alumni

Joe Brumm

Meg O’Connell

Top End Wedding, co-produced by Griffith Film School (GFS) alumnus Liam Heyen, received three nominations.

Griffith Film School alumni Joe Brumm and Daley Pearson were nominated for Best Children’s Program for their hit series Bluey, alongside fellow GFS graduate Angie Fielder who received a nod for ABC / Netflix series The Unlisted.

Angie Fielder

Griffith graduate Meg O’Connell received two nominations in the Best Online Drama or Comedy category for her cutting-edge online series Content and acclaimed SBS On Demand series Robbie Hood. Master of Screen Production graduate Jackson Lapsley Scott and Daley Pearson were also nominated for their work on Content –a trailblazing comedy series that takes place in real time on the lead character’s smartphone.

Daley Pearson

Bluey, Content and Robbie Hood were produced by Brisbane-based Ludo Studio, co-founded by Daley Pearson. The powerhouse production company employs scores of Griffith Film School graduates and offers internship placements for Bachelor of Film and Screen Media Production and Bachelor of Animation students.

Fellow film alumnus David Barbour received a nomination for Best Reality Program for his long-running series The Block. David is the co-creator and executive producer of the long-running renovation series – a global juggernaut which has been rolled out internationally from the US to the UK, Israel and South Africa.

Griffith nurtures screen talent

Professor Herman Van Eyken

Head of Griffith Film School Professor Herman Van Eyken said the strong showing reflected the calibre of talent nurtured at GFS, with graduates making their mark in the local, national and international screen industry.

“We are very proud of what our students, graduates and faculty members are producing, and are delighted to see their work recognised at this level,” he said.

“The AFI | AACTA Awards are the longest running film and media awards in Australia.

“A nomination allows our filmmakers to make industry connections and build a wider audience for their work.”

The 2019 AACTA Awards will be held in Sydney on Wednesday 4 December and broadcast on Channel Seven.