Griffith scientists show research leadership in Women in Technology awards

Three female Griffith University scientists have cleansweept a category in the Women in Technology (WiT) awards.

Professors Kathy Andrews, Sally-Ann Poulsen and Dr Lara Herrero are finalists in the Life Sciences Research Leader Award.

The category recognises a research Leader with more than than 7 years’ postdoctoral experience, making a recognised contribution to the field of life sciences research and development.

Professor Andrews and Professor Poulsen both work in the Griffith Institute for Drug Discovery at Nathan while Dr Herrero is based at the Institute for Glycomics on the Gold Coast.

The 2017 cohort of WiT Awards finalists is ambitious, accomplished and achieving amazing feats in technology and life sciences.

Now in their 20th year, the prestigious WiT annual awards are about celebrating women who are leaders and experts in their fields, succeeding in traditionally male-dominated technology and life science industries.

“From pioneering medical innovations to leading ground-breaking research and building a business from the ground up these women are truly remarkable,”Dr Alison Rice, Co President said.

Winners will be announced at the Gala Awards dinner on Friday 1 September 2017 at the Royal International Convention Centre.