Top scientists appointed to Academy

Professor Mark von Itzstein, left, and Professor Michael Good
Professor Mark von Itzstein, left, and Professor Michael Good, from the Institute for Glycomics

Foremost Australian medical researchers, Professor Mark von Itzstein and Professor Michael Good from Griffith’s Institute for Glycomics have been honoured with election to Fellowship in the Australian Academy of Health & Medical Sciences.

The appointments are in recognition of their outstanding contribution to the advancement of world scientific knowledge.

Both Professors von Itzstein and Good are global leaders in infectious disease research.

Professor von Itzstein is world-renowned for his anti-viral drug discovery programs and his discovery of Relenza, the world’s first designer anti-influenza virus drug.

Professor  Mark von Itzstein
Professor Mark von Itzstein

Professor Good has two promising vaccine candidates in human clinical trials; one that would protect against malaria infection and the other against Group A Streptococcal infection.

Professor Michael Good
Professor Michael Good

The newly created Academy was officially launched by Minister for Health, the Hon Sussan Ley MP in Canberra on March 25, 2015.

Director Professor von Itzstein, who leads a membership of 165 researchers at the Institute for Glycomics, said he was honoured by the announcement.

“Both Michael and I feel very privileged to be elected as Fellows of the Australian Academy of Health & Medical Sciences, and look forward to working within the Academy to advance medical research.”

The Academy includes many eminent scientists, including Nobel Laureate Professor Peter Doherty and is led by President Professor Ian Frazer.

It aims to provide independent advice to Government on health and medical research issues, mentor the next generation of health and medical science researchers and provide a forum for discussion on progress on medical research with an emphasis on translation of research into practice.

Griffith University Senior Deputy Vice-Chancellor, Professor Ned Pankhurst is delighted by the announcement.

“I congratulate the University’s two new Fellows on their election to the Academy.

“They join an elite group and continue Griffith’s strong tradition of our distinguished researchers being recognised by the leading academies.”

Established in 2014, the Academy brings together individuals who are members of Australia’s diverse specialist colleges and associations along with researchers and medical educators with a clinical and translational focus. The Academy plans to engage with all professional colleges and academies, as well as the NHMRC and government.

Candidates are judged primarily on the evidence of their published scientific work, and by peer review of scientists, both overseas and in Australia, who are eminent in the candidate’s field of expertise.

For a full list of the Australian Academy of Health and Medical Sciences Council Members visit: