A former Deputy Vice Chancellor, scientist and leading educator is one of several members of the Griffith University community acknowledged in the 2023 Australia Day Honours.

Professor Emeritus Debra Henly received a Member of the Order of Australia (AM) award for significant service to education administration and science.

A Deputy Vice Chancellor (Academic, 2016-2019) and Senior Deputy Vice Chancellor (2019-2020), Professor Emeritus Henly also filled the role of Pro Vice Chancellor of Griffith Sciences for four years from 2012 to 2016 after a distinguished research and teaching career in the biomedical field at University of Queensland and Bond University.

Professor Emeritus Henly said the honour sits on top of a career aimed at making higher education and science an attraction to students, particularly those from disadvantaged backgrounds.

“This award represents an acknowledgement of what I have managed to achieve over several decades’ involvement in education, and science by the people who supported my nomination and to receive such acknowledgement is an extraordinary honour.

“I’ve been fortunate to have had the opportunity to contribute to a number of universities as a teacher, researcher and more recently in leadership roles as a PVC and DVC.

“Over the last 4 years I have had a broader role as a member of the PM’s National Science and Technology Council through the turbulent initial months of the pandemic, and through the work I have undertaken for the Council and Federal Government promoting careers in science, and understanding the barriers that exist for those groups who traditionally have not engaged broadly with science through school, university and beyond,” Emeritus Professor Henly said.
“I am very grateful to a large number of people who have supported my career and provided opportunities for me to pursue my passion for science and education. In no small part, this award also belongs to them.”

Distinguished Professor Lyn Griffiths AM

Distinguished Professor Lyn Griffiths is another long-serving former academic staff member to be recognised with an award, with the former Director of Griffith Health Institute acknowledged with an AM for her service to genetics and to research into neurological disorders.

Distinguished Professor Griffiths held many top level academic executive positions during her 21 year career at Griffith, Including Dean of Research (Health) and Head of the School of Medical Sciences.

Other recipients of Australia Day Honours include:

Adjunct Research Fellow at Griffith Criminology Institute Dr Heather Nancarrow an AM for significant service to education and to the safety of women.

Dr Heather Nancarrow AM

Catherine Hunt, Executive in Residence at Griffith Business School, an AM for significant service to the arts and culture and to women.

Angela Coble, a Griffith Mentor, STEM Women (2018-2021), an OAM for service to business.

Bachelor of Communication, Journalism and Creative Writing alumnus Belinda Knierim, an OAM for service to the arts and human rights.

There were several Griffith alumni recognised as recipients in the 2023 awards:

AM – The late Stephen Gregg (MBA 1997) for distinguished service to the Queensland Tourism industry in leadership roles
AM – Professor Emeritus Jilliane Cook (PhD Physiotherapy 2000) for significant service to physiotherapy and sports medicine
AO – Laureate Professor Clare Collins (B Science 1980) for distinguished service to nutritional health and dietetics research
OAM – Ms Samantha Griffin (B Fine Art, 2003) for service to the community through a range of organisations
Australian Corrections Medal – Ms Rhiannon Porter (B Criminology & Criminal Justice 2007)
Australian Police Medal – Inspector John Toohey (B Biotechnology 2002)
Australian Police Medal – Superintendent Bradley Wright (B Business 1994)
Australian Police Medal – Superintendent Corey Heldon (PhD – Current)
Public Service Medal – Ms Clare O’Connor (MA, Public Sector Leadership 2015) for outstanding public service to the development and support of Queensland community.
Australian Conspicuous Service Cross – Sergeant Amy Hestermann-Crane (B Comm 2019) for outstanding devotion to duty in development and sustainment of an operational intelligence capability in the Australian Space Operations Centre for the Australian Defence Force.