Griffith University Deputy Chancellor Elected

Rebecca Frizelle OAM
Rebecca Frizelle OAM

Griffith University Council proudly welcomes its new Deputy Chancellor Rebecca Frizelle OAM who brings a wealth of experience to the role.

Ms Frizelle has been a member of University Council since January 2021 and previously held the position of Chief Operating Officer of Frizelle Sunshine Automotive.

She spent 31 years growing the Southeast Queensland and Northern New South Wales business and was awarded the Motor Traders Association ‘Women in Industry Award’ in 2019. She resigned from her position ahead of the family operated business’ initial public offering in 2021.

In 2014 she was appointed to the Board of the Gold Coast Titans and became the first female Chair in the NRL.

Deputy Chancellor Rebecca Frizelle OAM

In 2020, Ms Frizelle was awarded an Order of Australia as recognition for her contributions to the motor industry and Rugby League.

Ms Frizelle, a proud mother of three and a loyal supporter of women in leadership roles, said she’s deeply honoured to accept the appointment of Deputy Chancellor..

“Under the outstanding leadership of our Vice Chancellor Professor Carolyn Evans, Griffith University continues to educate, innovate and lead,” she said.

“Griffith is proudly and consistently ranked amongst the top two per cent of universities around the world.

“Whilst our newly appointed Chancellor, Mr Andrew Fraser, has left big shoes to fill in the Deputy’s role, I am delighted to have this opportunity to work more closely with Andrew, our University Council and our Executive.

“Griffith’s mantra of ‘Make it Matter’ is at the heart of everything we do, and I look forward to ensuring that everything I can personally do will matter.”

Amelia Evans, Griffith University Council Pro-Chancellor

In addition to Ms Frizelle’s election, the following Pro Chancellorshave also been appointed:

  • Amelia Evans as Chair of the Finance, Resources and Risk Committee (from 10 October 2022 — 31 December 2022) and then as Chair of the reconstituted Finance and Infrastructure Committee (for a two-year term from 1 January 2023 up to and including 31 December 2024)
  • Karen Prentis as Chair of the reconstituted Audit and Risk Committee (for a three-year term from 1 January 2023 up to and including 31 December 2025)
  • Jessica Rudd as Chair of the new People, Nominations and Remuneration Committee (for a two-year term from 1 January 2023 up to and including 31 December 2024)