Griffith the only Australian university to be named a Millennium Fellows Campus

Leila Emily Murray and Wilma Brand
Leila Emily Murray and Wilma Brand

Griffith University has been named as the only United Nations (UN) Millennium Fellows Campus in the country for 2022.

It is the third year in a row the University has been given the honour and is one of only 200 universities chosen globally.

Griffith Vice Chancellor and President Professor Carolyn Evans
Griffith Vice Chancellor and President Professor Carolyn Evans

Vice Chancellor and President Professor Carolyn Evans said the fellowship program focused on the implementation of the UN Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs), which is one of the priorities of Griffith and aligns strongly with Griffith’s values.

“I am proud that Griffith is the only Australian university to be designated as a UN Millennium Fellows Campus for 2022 as the SDGs are front-of-mind with everything we do,” Professor Evans said.

“Sustainability is a core value of Griffith University and a key initiative of the Creating a future for all–Strategic Plan 2020-2025.

“As such, we have a strong commitment to the SDGs and strive to create a robust, equitable and environmentally sustainable society.

“The fellowship program also provides an incredible opportunity for our students to strengthen skills and connections, while working to making the world a better place.”

Bachelor of Business innovation student Wilma Brand and Bachelor of Health Science student Leila Emily Murray have been named at Griffith’s UN Millennium Fellows Class of 2022 Campus Directors.

“I joined the Millennium Fellowship because I want to be an agent of change,” Leila Emily said.

“I hope to bring about tangible impact on campus and in the community by participating in sustainability projects.

“I believe that joining this program creates a path for me to volunteer worldwide and be able to touch lives of people from all walks of life.

“With the common motivation of advancing the SDGs, a series of social movements from students like us can ignite partnerships and therefore collectively address our common need of having climate action breakthroughs.”

Griffith Honours College Program Coordinator Kim Holmes congratulated the 20 Millennium Fellows.

“This international fellowship is an amazing opportunity for students to work across disciplines on social impact projects that are aligned to the UN SDGs,” Ms Holmes said.

“Being recognised internationally for their leadership potential, this program gives Griffith University students the chance to connect with like-minded students from around the world.”

Griffith University’s 2022 Millennium Fellows

  • Eden Annesley
  • Wilma Brand
  • Angus Brawley
  • Jade Campbell
  • Bethany Cramb
  • Kerry Dickson
  • Margo Doherty
  • Zali Fisher
  • Louise Hauser
  • Lucinta Holmes
  • Courtney McCreery
  • Renee Medland
  • Lauren Midgley
  • Leon Mojarrabi
  • Leila Emily Murray
  • Sophie Nakamura
  • Brianna Palmer
  • Isaac Reed
  • Shayna Spencer
  • Kirstie Starr