Introducing the 2022 academic group Outstanding Alumni Award winners

Griffith University has announced the winners of the 2022 academic group Outstanding Alumni Awards, with a diverse mix of outstanding recipients from across the world.

Sixteen inspiring Griffith University alumni have been named as academic group winners as part of the University’s 2022 Outstanding Alumni Awards in the academic groups of Arts, Education and Law, Griffith Business School, Griffith Health and Griffith Sciences.

2022 award winners include authors, environmental health, disability and equality advocates, entrepreneurs, artists, teachers, and Order of Australia (OAM) recipients all making the world a brighter place through their achievements.

Each academic group has awards in the following categories:
• Outstanding Alumnus
• Outstanding First Peoples Alumnus
• Outstanding International Alumnus
• Outstanding Young Alumnus

The alumni group winners will progress as finalists for the overall Griffith University Outstanding Alumni Awards which will be held in September.

Griffith University congratulates all academic group winners:
Arts, Education and Law winners
• Dr Keith Graham OAM (Outstanding Alumnus)
• Rachael Sarra (Outstanding First Peoples Alumnus)
• Dr Antoni Tsaputra (Outstanding International Alumnus)
• Morwenna Collett (Outstanding Young Alumnus)

Griffith Business School winners
• Melissa Lucashenko (Outstanding Alumnus)
• Professor Dennis Foley (Outstanding First Peoples Alumnus)
• Troy Yue (Outstanding International Alumnus)
• Beny Bol OAM (Outstanding Young Alumnus)

Griffith Health winners
• Adjunct Professor Alanna Geary (Outstanding Alumnus)
• Peta Phelan (Outstanding First Peoples Alumnus)
• Dr Donald Christian (Outstanding International Alumnus)
• Tyson Tripcony (Outstanding Young Alumnus)

Griffith Sciences winners
• Lloyd Hancock (Outstanding Alumnus)
• Jack Kafoa (Outstanding First Peoples Alumnus)
• Dr Di Jiangli (Outstanding International Alumnus)
• James Greig (Outstanding Young Alumnus)

Deputy Director Advancement and Head of Alumni Relations, Joanne Nyland, said the University is incredibly proud of the impact that Griffith alumni are having in their professional fields and communities around the globe.

“This is a challenging task for the judging panels, as there are so many worthy nominees, but there can only be one winner from each award category,” she said.

“Alumni continue to ‘make it matter’ in the most extraordinary ways, and are demonstrating the values of Griffith University daily. It’s such a privilege to recognise them with these awards.”

“Nominees were assessed on their alignment with the broad selection criteria including their sustained success in, and contribution to, their chosen industry/profession and their substantial contribution to the community at local, state, national or international levels.”

“Also assessed was their demonstration of attributes in alignment with the values of Griffith University.”

Learn more about the 2022 Outstanding Alumni Awards academic group winners.

Ms Joanne Nyland
Ms Joanne Nyland