Our Gold medal winning Olympic swimmers are among a raft of Griffith University connections awarded 2022 Australia Day honours.

Recent Griffith Public Health graduate Emma McKeon OAM, who won seven medals in Tokyo, including four Gold and three Bronze, has also been awarded a Member (AM) in the general division, for significant service to swimming as a Gold medallist at the Tokyo Olympics. McKean was also awarded the Medal of the Order of Australia in 2017 for her efforts at the Rio 2016 Olympic Games.

Fellow Olympian and dual Business and Psychological Science degree student Zac Stubblety Cook, who won Gold in the men’s 200m Breaststroke and Bronze as a member of the men’s 4 x 100m Medley Relay in Tokyo, has been awarded a medal (OAM) of the Order of Australia in the General Division, for his service to sport at the Games.

Medals (OAM) of the Order of Australia in the General Division have also been awarded to swimmer Chelsea Hodges, who won Olympic Gold in the Women’s 4x100m Medley Relay and is undertaking a nursing degree in addition to her sporting pursuits, and to Griffith Business student Meg Harris, who took Gold in the Women’s 4 x 100m Freestyle Relay.

Tokyo Gold medal winning Paralympic athlete Madison de Rozario, currently studying a Bachelor of Business at Griffith and MBA candidate and kayaker Jessica Fox who took Gold and Bronze in Tokyo.

Griffith alumni awarded honours this year also include:

  • Nicholas (Nick) Marshall OAM —Completed M Musculoskeletal Sports Physiotherapy 2014 (Also named 2020 Griffith University Outstanding Alumnus and currently engaged as a part-time Physiotherapist in Griffith Health Clinics while also delivering clinical education to students in clinic)
  • Michael (Jack) Robert Bryce OAM — Completed BSC Env 1988
  • Dr Lenore Marcella Coltheart OAM — Completed PHD 1984
  • Dr Susan Elizabeth Davis OAM — Completed BA Humanities 1982
  • Roslyn May English OAM — Completed GCert Public Admin 1996
  • Vanessa Jane Holben PSM — Completed B Crim & Crim Justice 2000
  • Jasmina Joldic PSM — Completed M Public Admin 2014
  • Assistant Commissioner Brian Desmond Connors APM– Completed MA In Public Sector 2015

Foundation Chair and Head of Pathology since 2004 at what is now Griffith’s School of Medicine and Dentistry, Professor Alfred King-yin Lam has been named a Member (AM) in the general division, for significant service to tertiary education, to research, and to pathology.

Professor Alfred Lam AM receives his Award at Government House

Professor Lam has produced more than 400 peer-reviewed publications and is also the Deputy Director of Griffith’s Centre for Environment and Population Health.

The Honourable Samuel Sydney Doumany, an Honorary Fellow at Griffith’s Institute for Glycomics, received Member (AM) in the general division, for significant service to parliament and politics in Queensland, and to the community.

Among his political achievements, he was a former Deputy Parliamentary Leader of the Queensland Liberal Party, Member for Kurilpa 1974-1983, former Minister for Welfare 1978-1980 and Attorney-General and Minister for Justice 1980-1983.

Adjunct Professor, Menzies Health Institute Queensland since 2014, Emeritus Professor Marianne Clare Wallis has been awarded Member (AM) in the general division, for significant service to tertiary education, to nursing, and to research.

A Fellow of the Australian College of Nursing, Professor Wallis AM served as the Foundation Chair, Clinical Nursing Research at Griffith, 2000-2011 and was the Chief Investigator, National Health and Medical Research Council’s Centre for Excellence in Nursing Interventions for Hospitalised Patient, 2010-2015.

The late Mrs Pamela Hope Mam, who was awarded an Honorary Doctorate from Griffith in 2018, has been honoured with Member (AM) in the general division, for her significant service to the Indigenous community of Queensland through nursing.

She co-founded the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Community Health Service, Brisbane in 1973. In 2015, Griffith named The Aunty Pamela Mam Indigenous Nursing Scholarship in her honour.

Dr Peter Stephen Ellis, Adjunct Professor, Forensic Medicine and Pathology, School of Environment and Science at Griffith since 2008, was honoured with a Medal (OAM) of the Order of Australia in the general division.

He was recognised for his service to medicine as a forensic pathologist.

Vice Chancellor and President of Griffith University Professor Carolyn Evans said recognition like this inspired the wider University community.

“The individuals recognised in these awards have demonstrated outstanding achievements across a variety of fields and a deep commitment to their community,” Professor Evans said.

“After such a difficult start to 2022, it is wonderful to take a moment to celebrate their contributions and congratulate them on their awards.”

“They are an inspiration to the next generation of students and show the difference that members of the Griffith community can make in the world.”

4: Quality Education
UN Sustainable Development Goals 4: Quality Education