Griffith University President and Vice-Chancellor Professor Carolyn Evans has been appointed chair of the Innovative Research Universities (IRU) group.

“I’m very pleased to be taking over as IRU chair and I thank Professor Eeva Leinonen for her leadership throughout the past two years,” Professor Evans said

Murdoch University Vice-Chancellor Professor Eeva Leinonen held the role through 2019 and 2020.The IRU Chair is the primary university representative of the group, overseeing the work of the IRU secretariat team and acting as a ‘public face’ of the group, including attending meetings with ministers.

“The IRU group will be at the forefront of discussions and debate about the future of the university sector, including how we can support Australia’s recovery from the coronavirus pandemic,” Professor Evans added.

“With a new education minister recently appointed, I will be working with other IRU vice-chancellors to ensure the Government recognises the valuable role our members play in their communities, in providing teaching to under-served communities and undertaking research with real-world impact.

“My priority for the role will be working with government around support for the sector during this particularly challenging time.”

Griffith campuses, which are located at South Bank, Nathan, Mt Gravatt, Gold Coast and Logan, are preparing to welcome students for Trimester 1, which officially starts on Monday 8 March.

4: Quality Education
UN Sustainable Development Goals 4: Quality Education