Griffith representatives recognised with Australia Day Honours

Incoming Pro-Vice Chancellor (Indigenous) Professor Cindy Shannon was one of many Griffith University staff, alumni and associates recognised with Australia Day Honours.

Professor Cindy Shannon, Pro Vice Chancellor (Indigenous)
Professor Cindy Shannon, Pro Vice Chancellor (Indigenous).

Vice Chancellor and President Professor Carolyn Evans said it was wonderful to see them rewarded for their achievements.

“We are very proud of all those members of the Griffith University community who have been named in the Australia Day Honours List for 2020,” Professor Evans said.

“Griffith University has always focused on creating real and lasting benefit through its teaching and research.

“These honours are a wonderful acknowledgement of the benefit of the work undertaken by Griffith staff and alumni for the Australian people.”

Griffith University’s newly appointed Pro-Vice Chancellor (Indigenous) Professor Cindy Shannon earned the title of Member (AM) in the General Division of the Order of Australia, for “significant service to Indigenous health and to medical education.”

Professor von Itzstein AO with his award for Gold Coast Citizen of the Year.

Professor Shannon said the award was a great honour.

“I’m grateful for the recognition it gives to First People’s health. It also recognises the importance of education and training a workforce that is adequately equipped to work in this area,” she said.

“This highlights what can be achieved through university and Aboriginal community partnerships working together.”

Staff member Dr Donald Campbell was bestowed the Order of Australia Medal (OAM) for his service to trauma medicine.

Institute for Glycomics Director and Head of Research Professor Mark von Itzstein AO was also named Gold Coast Citizen of the Year at the city’s Australia Day awards for 2020.

Honorary Doctors of the University

Ian Stewart APM (DUniv).

Queensland Police Service’s 19th Commissioner Ian Stewart APM (DUniv) was named Officer (AO) for “distinguished service to law enforcement as Commissioner of Police in Queensland and to the community”.

The Honourable Chief Justice Catherine Holmes (DUniv) was given the highest honour of the Companion (AC) in the General Division of the Order of Australia for “eminent service to the judiciary, notably to criminal, administrative and mental health law and to the community of Queensland”.

Professor Margaret Gardner (DUniv) was also named Companion (AC) for her service to tertiary education, Dr Robert MacPherson (DUniv) was made Member (AM) for significant service to the visual arts and Dr Paul Eliadis (DUniv) was awarded Member (AM).

Former staff

Former Deputy Vice Chancellor (Academic) Professor John Dewar has been awarded Officer (AO) for “distinguished service to education through leadership roles in the universities sector and to professional organisations”. Professor Dewar was Deputy Vice Chancellor (Academic) from 2005-2009 and he worked at Griffith for 14 years. He is also an alumnus of the university.

Former Griffith Enterprise Board Chair Dr Peter Riddles was named Member (AM) for “significant service to science, to biotechnology, and to innovation,” while former staff member Professor Mohamad Abdalla was appointed Member (AM) for significant service to education in the field of Islamic Studies. Former Adjunct Professor Sarah Bradley was also named Officer (AO).

Professor Diana Egerton-Warburton was awarded a Medal of the Order of Australia (OAM) for service to emergency medicine. She was an Adjunct Professor in the Menzies Health Institute Queensland from 2017-2019.

Alumni and associates

Alumnus Annabelle Chaplain was awarded Member (AM).

Emily Cox, who has a longstanding association with the Queensland Conservatorium of Music and is also an alumnus, has been awarded Member (AM) for her service to the performing arts through choral music.

Centre for Interfaith and Cultural Dialogue Advisory Council Member David Paratz was appointed Member (AM) for significant service to the Jewish community of Queensland and to the law.

Alumni Annabelle Chaplain, Trina Hockley, Steven Raine and Dr Graeme Worboys were named Member (AM). Dr Peter Boyes received an Order of Australia Medal, while Colin Cassidy was given a Public Service Medal for outstanding public service to economic development, corporate services and town planning in Queensland.

Inspector Corey Allen, Michelle Clark and Nyree Whelan were each awarded an Australian Police Medal (APM), while Rebecca Edwards, Robyn Ernst and Jenny Lynas were each given an Australian Corrections Medal.

The full Australia Day 2020 Honours list is available on The Governor-General’s website.