A group of Griffith Education students have been recognised for their academic excellence, by the Australian College of Educators (ACE) at their recent June prize ceremony.

Among the winners was Erin Fitzpatrick, awarded the Edmund Hibbard Prize as most outstanding second year student in the Bachelor of Education (Primary).

“I was inspired to become a teacher because it is a profession that allows you to give back to your community,” said Erin.

“There is no feeling that compares to helping a student traverse the complex academic, social and emotional demands of school.”

“Even as a Preservice Teacher, every day you go home knowing you have made a positive impact on your students’ lives.”

Erin says the yearly practicums are a highlight for her, and she has completed a rural practicum in the Darling Downs, gained professional networks as a student representative for the Logan Teacher Education Advisory Group and developed leadership and mentoring skills by working as a Griffith Writing Mentor.

Congratulations to the following students:

  • Australian College of Educators Prize: Hayley Swane and Rachel Tapley
  • Bishop Dixon Medal: Vikki Nel
  • Edmund Hibbard Prize: Erin Fitzpatrick
  • Helena Davenport Prize: Vinoka Ethapane
  • Sisters of Mercy Medal: Emily WilliamsICPA Rural Education Award – Lauren Henderson
  • ICPA Rural & Remote Practicum Award – Edward Willes
  • ALEA Meanjin Local Council Award – Hayley Swane and Rachel Tapley
  • Carmel Gomm Memorial Medal: Saori Morita
  • Isobel Taylor Award: Sarah Burr

The Australian College of Educators (ACE) is the national professional association for the education profession.