Fourth year Griffith University planning student Jasmine Divall has won the inaugural Woman in Planning Award at the recent Minister’s Planning Awards.

Recognised for her academic achievements and dedication to planning in Queensland, Ms Divall receives an internship with the Department of State Development, Manufacturing, Infrastructure and Planning.

“In my final year, this is a great opportunity. This award has already opened doors for me and I can’t wait to see where it will take me throughout my career,” the Urban and Environmental Planning/Science student said.

“I am so thankful for Griffith and the amazing lecturers in planning that consistently show their support and encourage students to make the most of every opportunity.”

The Woman in Planning Award champions and encourages more women in the profession to gain leadership positions and will help drive what is an important industry.

“This new award will give high achieving students like Jasmine a greater opportunity to develop an understanding of the state’s role in planning and how they can shape Queensland for the better,” said Member for Keppel and former Queensland Young Planner of the Year Brittany Lauga.

First year Bachelor of Urban and Environmental Planning/Bachelor of Science student Ruby Stockham was also named joint winner of thePlanning Institute of Australia PIA Student Bursary.

“I’m so grateful to be this year’s joint winner of the bursary and it is really encouraging to have such an established organisation recognise my Year 12 results,” she said.

“Being surrounded by so many future and successful planners in one room has made me even more inspired to work hard and excel in my degree.”

Associate ProfessorMichael Howes, Head of the Environmental Planning and Management Discipline, congratulated Jasmine and Ruby for their stellar efforts.

“They outdid competitors from all seven Queensland planning schools to win their respective awards,” he said.

During the ceremony, five other Griffith students were also awarded PIAQueensland Student Academic Prizes:

  • Kimberley Wong won best first year performance
  • Emma Davis won best second year performance
  • Dominic Tinyat Tang won best third year performance
  • Aidan Brotherton won best fourth year performance
  • Yekaterina Kurganova won best performance overall in the Master of Urban and Environmental Planning.

“These are great achievements for our students, the Environmental Planning and Management Discipline, the School of Environment and Science, and Griffith University,” Assoc. Professor Howes added.

The award presentation ceremony was held at Parliament House on Wednesday May 29 and hosted by the Honourable Cameron Dick MP, Minister for State Development, Manufacturing, Infrastructure and Planning. It was also attended by the President of the Planning Institute of Australia, Queensland, Wendy Evans.