AGriffith University physicist has earned the chance to attend a high-profile annual gathering of Nobel Laureates and emerging scientists from around the world.

Dr Nora Tischler, a postdoctoral fellow from the Centre for Quantum Dynamics, was nominated by the Australian Academy of Science and selected by the Council to attend the 69th Lindau Nobel Laureate Meeting in Germany, which is dedicated to physics.

The event will host 600 young scientists from around the world. Dr Tischler, whospecialisesin optical quantum information science, is among the 10 young physicists from Australia that have been chosen to attend the gathering.

“I am extremely grateful and excited to meet and learn from Nobel Prize winners and the other attendants,” Dr Tischler said.

“The meeting will be a fantastic opportunity to think about and discuss big questions in physics, and I’m sure it will inspire me for many years to come.”

Dr Tischler’s supervisor Professor Geoff Pryde said Dr Tischler was more than worthy of thehonour.

“Nora is not afraid to tackle new and hard research questions, and she is one of the experimental pioneers in the field of quantum complexity science,” Prof Pryde said.

“She has achieved remarkable research outcomes in her career to date, and this opportunityrecognisesher as a future leader in Australian science.”

A record 42 Nobel Prize winners will join the young scientists at the event, which is on from June 30 to July 5.

The Australian PhD candidates and postdoctoral researchers attending are:

  • Dr Nora Tischler – Postdoctoral Fellow, Griffith University, quantum optics andnanophotonics
  • Dr KatieSizeland– Postdoctoral Fellow, ANSTO, investigating the nanostructure and mechanical properties of collagen
  • Fiona Panther – PhD Candidate, Australian National University, researching antimatter in the Milky Way
  • EliezerEstrecho– PhD Candidate, ARC Centre of Excellence in FutureLowEnergyElectronics Technologies, exciton-polariton Bose-Einstein condensates
  • Dr Matthew Reeves – Postdoctoral Fellow, ARC Centre of Excellence in Future Low-Energy Electronics Technologies, investigating superfluid turbulence and vortex dynamics
  • Melanie Hampel – PhD Candidate, Monash University, nuclear astrophysics
  • Dr Sarah Walden – Postdoctoral Fellow, Queensland University of Technology, nonlinear optics and material interactions
  • Hareem Khan – PhD Candidate, RMIT, electrical and electronics engineering of 2D materials
  • Claire Edmunds – PhD Candidate, University of Sydney, researching quantum computing and information
  • Samuel Hinton – PhD Candidate, University of Queensland, researching dark matter by studying supernovae.

The attendance of the researchers at the event will be enabled through the generous support of the Science and Industry Endowment Fund — Australian Academy of Science Lindau Nobel Laureate Meeting Fellowship.

The group will also take part in the SIEF Research Innovation Tour in Germany, led by renowned Australian scientist and Australian Academy of Science Fellow, ProfessorChennupatiJagadish.

The tour will showcase some of Germany’s finest research and development, while also providing opportunities to share the research done by the young scientists and encourage scientific collaboration between the two countries.