Go Health Go Griffith wins at national teaching awards 

Griffith University's award winning Go Health Go Griffith Team
A unique Griffith University program that aims to inspire secondary student success in health and science has been recognised at a national higher education conference.

Go Health Go Griffith, a three-stage school-university-industry program that implements age-appropriate learning experiences for students, were winners at the Australian Awards for University Teaching held at the Higher Education Conference in Canberra.

The program won the Educational Partnerships and Collaborations with other Organisations category in the 2018 Awards for Program that Enhance Learning.

Associate Professor Suzzanne Owen, Griffith Health’s Dean of Learning and Teaching, leads the program and said the win recognised the valuable partnerships Griffith had with senior education and health professional providers in Queensland and Northern New South Wales. 

It is rewarding to see a program that has been going for 10 years this year that has increased the number of students choosing science and healthrelated courses that lead into a wide variety of degree options for health and the university overall,” Prof Owen said.

“I’m so proud tsee the students from the first cohorts achieving in their careers. Many have gone on to be doctorsengineers, scientists, dentists, nurses and allied health professionals. 

We have so many success stories from students who never thought they would come to do tertiary study.

We are still going strong with the support of Griffith Education QLD and Queensland Health benefiting as well as the students.

This has been a privilege to do this job and it takes a team of great teachers and staff and the backing of the health executive.

In 2008, Griffith University entered into a partnership agreement with Queensland Health (Gold Coast Health Service District) and Education Queensland to develop initiatives within designated high schools to promote healthrelated studies and pathways to Griffith Health undergraduate programs to senior students. 

Go Health Go Griffith is an innovative school-university-industry educational program. The three-stage program uses age-appropriate learning experiences to inspire interest and success in health and science. 

The three stages include community engagement and awareness building, support for subject selection in senior school and embedding university-level subjects within year 11 and 12 programs. 

The major award winner at the Australian Awards for University Teaching was Dr Kevin Larkin, from Griffith’s School of Education and Professional Studies, who was named the 2018 Australian University Teacher of the Year. Kevin is the fourth Griffith academic to win this prestigious award. 

The University’s 2018 Citations for Outstanding Contributions to Student Learning winners were:

  • Dr Irene Bartlett, Queensland Conservatorium: For motivating and inspiring students as creative and knowledgeable singers/performers/teachers through development of curricula, resources and services that reflect a command of the field.
  • Associate Professor Sarah Cresswell, School of Environment and Science: For approaches to teaching and the support of learning that influence, motivate and inspire forensic chemistry students to learn and to develop their professional identity.
  • Dr Vinod Gopalan, School of Medicine and School of Medical Science: For enhancing student engagement in learning histopathology through development of approaches that are authentic, industry informed and underpinned with scholarly activities.
  • Dr Diana Tolmie, Queensland Conservatorium: For distinctive and scholarly innovations in music vocational preparation curriculum design and teaching that promote career-confident, knowledgeable and sustainable musicians.