Prof Debra Henly appointed to peak national science body

Professor Debra Henly
Professor Debra Henly

Deputy Vice Chancellor (Academic) Professor Debra Henly has been appointed as a board member of the National Science and Technology Advisory Council.

Professor Henly is one of six of Australia’s most prominent scientists to be appointed to the peak science advisory body. The others are: Professors Genevieve Bell, Barbara Howlett, Geordie Williamson, Brian Schmidt and Ian Frazer.

The Council will focus on the key science and technology challenges facing Australia, providing expert advice on issues such as health, emerging technologies and education.

Professor Henly said she was honoured and excited by the appointment.

“I welcome the opportunity to work with exceptional colleagues from a broad range of disciplines to help shape the Australian discussion about science and technology.”

In addition to her early career in research in metabolism and diabetes, Professor Henly is a pioneer of innovative learning and teaching, including online learning and science education.

Professor Henly was the Pro Vice Chancellor of Griffith’s Sciences Group, including engineering and ICT, from 2012 to 2016.

She has also held appointments at Flinders University, the University of Queensland and Bond University.

Professor Henly also led Griffith University’s recent successful submission to the Athena SWAN program, recognising the university’s commitment to promoting the careers of academic women in Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics.

Other members of the Council are Prime Minister Scott Morrison (Chair), the Hon Karen Andrews MP, Minister for Industry, Science and Technology, Australia’s Chief Scientist Dr Alan Finkel AO and Dr Larry Marshall, CSIRO Chief Executive.