Griffith academics appointed to 2019 ARC College of Experts

Seven Griffith University academics have been appointed as members of the 2019ARC College of Experts

They are: Professor Vicky Avery — Griffith Institute for Drug Discovery; Associate Professor Susan Bengtson Nash — School of Environment and Sciences; Professor Fabrizio Camignani — Griffith Business School;Professor Yongsheng Gao – School of Engineering; Associate Professor Qin Li — Queensland Micro and Nanontechnology Centre; Professor Allison Waters – School of Applied Psychology and Professor Hong Zhang — School of Engineering and Built Environment.

Professor Carmignani said it was an honour to be nominated by the university and a great opportunity to be contributing research quality across Australia.

“It’s also recognition of Griffith’s growing reputation as a research institution to delivering these strong research outputs. It’s indeed exciting and challenging and I really look forward to providing a contribution.”

There are 195 members on the ARC College of Experts. They play a key role in identifying research excellence, moderating external assessments and recommending fundable proposals.

The College of Experts also assists the ARC in recruiting and assigning assessors and in implementing peer review reforms in established and emerging disciplines as well as interdisciplinary areas.