Internationally renowned protein crystallographer Professor Jennifer Martin is one of 21 scientists who have been elected to the Australian Academy of Science, a rare and esteemed honour, for their outstanding contributions to science.

The Director of the Griffith Institute for Drug Discovery (GRIDD) has made seminal discoveries in bacterial redox biochemistry, including revealing how the DsbA enzyme assembles bacterial ‘weapons’, and validating DsbA as a target for novel antibacterials that are now being developed.

Through her role as a founding member of the Science and Gender Equity (SAGE) Steering Committee, Professor Martin helped implement the Athena SWAN pilot to address gender equity in science.

Professor Martin has also been recognised as a strong public advocate for science with an inspirational and highly effective science communication record.

The 21 scientists’ ground-breaking discoveries and contributions to research range from improving crop yields, women’s reproductive health and mobile telecommunications, through to our understanding of the evolution of the Earth, the periodic table and massive galaxies.

The group was elected by their Academy peers, following a rigorous evaluation process.

Professor Martin said, “I am thrilled and humbled to be elected as a Fellow of the Australian Academy of Science; this is one of the highest honours that can be bestowed to an Australian scientist”.

Academy of Science President Professor Andrew Holmes congratulated all of the new Fellows for making significant and lasting impacts in their scientific disciplines.

“What is delightful about our latest group of new Fellows is that many were inspired to become scientists at an early age,” Professor Holmes said.

“These stories remind us why it is crucial that as a nation we continue to work together to inspire our next generation of scientists, which is part of our core mission at the Academy,” Professor Holmes said.

The Academy’s total fellowship now includes 524 scientists.

Professor Martin has held several nationally competitive Fellowships during her career including an inaugural ARC Australian Laureate Fellowship. She is the recipient of many awards including the ASBMB Roche Medal, the Queensland Smart Women Smart State Research Scientist Award, the Women in Biotechnology Outstanding Achievement Award and the Wunderly medal of the Thoracic Society of Australia and New Zealand.

She is also the President of the Asian Crystallographic Association, a former President of the Society of Crystallographers in Australia and New Zealand, and a former chair of the National Committee for Crystallography of the Australian Academy of Science.