Griffith students’ sporting excellence was recognised at the Sporting Blues Awards on October 28.

Hosted by the Griffith University Gold Coast Student Guild and the Griffith Sports College, the awards celebrate the achievements of student athletes as Full Blue (Open and International) and Half Blue (Junior, State & National) Award winners.

Griffith Sports College Manager Duncan Free OAM said the awards were a great opportunity to celebrate the achievements of Griffith students who had represented Australia throughout 2015.

“We had more than 60 students represent Australia, NZ and PNG in over 25 sports in 2015. It’s great to see such diversity in the number of sports represented,’’ he said.

“It is a great sign of things to come next year for the 2016 Rio Olympics and also looking ahead to the 2018 Commonwealth Games.

“Griffith University is extremely proud of all our athletes and like to think we play a role in our student athlete successes both on the field of sport and in their field of study.”

Most Outstanding Sporting Achievement

Commonwealth Games gold medallist Cameron McEvoy

Academic Athlete of the Year

Matilda’s Footballer Elise Kellond-Knight

Australian University Sport Honour Roll

Matthew Denny — Athletics

Kiah Melverton — Swimming

Tiana Soggard-Anderson — Water Polo

Half Blue Awards

Tiarne Augustine — Power Lifting

Tyler Blah — Ballroom Dancing

Georgia Blair — Softball

Shona Black — Ten Pin Bowling

Tess Carty — Rowing

Matthew Denny — Athletics

Jy Duffy — Exercise Science

Emily Edmunds — Skipping

Jake Eve — Skipping

Zachary Henderson — Karate

Stanford Kawale — Swimming

Kiah Melverton — Swimming

Mitchell Orwin — Fencing

Joshua Parrish — Swimming

Samuel Seghers — Swimming

Michael Solomon — Gridiron

Timothy Stenlake — Marathon Kayak

Fred Dorrough — Rugby 7s

Jaz Hedgeland — Triathlon

Liam McNamara — Rugby 7s

Brianna Thomas — Cross-country

Sam Heazlett — Cricket

Tiana Soggard-Anderson — Water Polo

Matthew Kuhneman — Cricket

Tegwen Marsdon — Synchronised Figure Skating

Jesse McEwan — Power Lifting

Paige Findlow — Synchro Skating

Simon Leung — Badminton

Brandon Borello — Football

Brianna Massie — Kayak


Full Blue Awards

Jess Ashwood — Swimming

Bill Bain — Kayak

Madeleine Edmunds —Rowing

Jessica Hall — Rowing

Emma McKeon — Swimming

Ella Sabljak — Wheel Chair Basketball

Joel Turer — Sailing

Devon Halligan — Surf Lifesaving

Lorna Tonks — Swimming

Madi Wilson — Swimming

Gretel Tippett — Netball

Clare Polkinghorne — Football

Matthew Cameron — Para Athletics

Sam Walker — Volleyball

Jessica Russell-Croucher — Volleyball

Melinda McLeod — BMX

Dominic Bedgood — Diving

Lara Tarvit — Diving

Jenelle Crooks — Cycling

Melissa Gorman — Open Water Swimming

Elise Kellond-Knight — Football

Matt McShane — Basketball

Tameka Butt — Football

Jessica Jonassen — Cricket

Nikita Pablo- Synchro Swimming

Danielle Scott — Aerial Skiing

Matthew Dodd — Figure Skating

Alyce Burnett — Kayak