‘the churchie’ national art prize returns














The future of Australian contemporary art as seen through the eyes of 33 exceptional artists will be on show this August as they vie for the Churchie Emerging Art Prize.

For the sixth year in a row, the Griffith University Art Gallery (GUAG) in South Bank will host the awards – one of the country’s richest for emerging artists.

Rachel Kent, Chief Curator at the Museum of Contemporary Art in Sydney will take on the task of judging to select an overall winner at the official opening and $15,000 prize announcement on Friday 31 July.

According to Naomi Evans, Curator, Griffith University Art Gallery, this year’s entries were enormously varied in subject matter and medium.

“The selection panel was impressed with the range of artworks that demonstrate humaneness, engagement with philosophy, and a willingness to address world issues with sensitivity and thoughtfulness,” she says.

“We were grateful to Dr Kyla McFarlane (QAG/GoMA) and Bianca Beetson (Artist) for their participation on the selection panel.”

Vicky Leighton, Head of Art, Churchie agrees with her sentiments.

“The exceptional standard from this year’s finalists is evidence of the incredible talent emerging from across the country,” she says.

With no restrictions or categories, the artworks range from painting, sculpture and photography through to mixed media installation and new media works.

the churchie national emerging art prize is free and open to the public, with the Official Opening + Prize Announcement being held on Friday 31 July from 6-8 pm.

It will run from 31 July to 29 August 2015, with all works for sale.

Griffith University Art Gallery
226 Grey Street, South Bank.
Open 11am – 4pm, Tuesday to Saturday.

2015 Finalists:
Abdul-Rahman Abdullah (WA); Alrey Batol (QLD); Amina McConvell (NT); Anastasia Booth (QLD); Anne Harris (QLD); Benjamin Crowley (QLD); Bobby Kyriakopoulos (VIC); Chris Bennie (QLD); Claudia Greathead (QLD); Dana Lawrie (QLD); Daniel McKewen (QLD);Deb Mansfield (NSW); Genevieve Felix Reynolds (NSW); Harley Ives (NSW); James Barth (QLD); Joshua Bonson (NT); Justine Varga (NSW); Llewellyn Millhouse (QLD); Lydia Wegner (VIC); Margaret Loy Pula (QLD); Martin George (VIC); Matthew Allen (NSW);Matthew Sneesby (QLD); Michaela Gleave (NSW); Patrick Cremin (NSW); Rachael Archibald (QLD); Robert Andrew (QLD); Sam Martin (VIC); Scott Morrison (VIC);Sha Sarwari (QLD); Tai Snaith (VIC); Tim Woodward (VIC); and Yannick Blattner (QLD).

Public Programs:

Hear from ‘the churchie’ artists in lively discussions about their work, art and ideas.

Meet the artists: Session 1
Saturday 1 August 2015, 11.30 am
Led by Naomi Evans, Curator, GUAG

Meet the artists: Session 2
Saturday 8 August, 11.30 am
Led by Jacqueline Armitstead, Assistant Curator, GUAG

School and group bookings
Griffith University Art Gallery welcomes visits from schools, universities and community groups. Please contact the Gallery to make a booking.

MEDIA CONTACT: Lauren Marino, 0418 799 544, [email protected]