ARC Linkage Project success

Matt Burke
Dr Matt Burke, Urban Research Program, is one of the recipients of this year's ARC Linkage Project Grants.

From the post-silicon efficiency of power electronics to public transport funding and automated strawberry harvesting, 14 Griffith University research projects have been successful in this year’s ARC Linkage Project grants.

The projects have attracted a total funding of $4,478,006.

Vice Chancellor Professor Ian O’Connor congratulated the new Linkage Project awardees.

“Griffith’s success rate for the round is 46.7% compared to the national average of 35.5%,’’ he said.

The project which attracted the largest funding is;

Prof Sima Dimitrijev and Dr Jisheng Han, who were awarded $509,000 for their project Silicon-Carbide Switches for Post-Silicon Efficiency of Power Electronics.

Griffith’s other ARC Linkage grants were awarded to;

Dr Matthew Burke, Dr Barbara Yen and Dr Guilherme Lohmann,  $217,964 for their project Funding on the line: public transport financing and property value capture.

Prof Yaoqi Zhou, Dr Joe Tiralongo and Dr Yuedong Yang, $241,564 for their project Novel antimicrobial target discovery by an integrated approach.

Prof Nam-Trung Nguyen, Prof Sima Dimitrijev and Mr Alan Iacopi, $360,000 for their project Integrated Cooling Enhancement Technology for Power Electronics.

Prof Elizabeth Kendall, Dr Francoise Maujean, Prof Anna Stewart, Prof Bonnie Barber, Dr Martin Downes, Dr Jason Byrne and A/Prof Kym Macfarlane, $188,028 for their project Farming 4 Care: Using nature to cultivate resilience in young people.

Prof Suzanne Chambers, Dr Melissa Hyde, A/Prof Angussuza Ng and Prof Paul Scuffham, $221,574 for their project Celebrate. Remember. Fight Back. Episodic Volunteering for Non-Profits.

Prof Darryl Low Choy and Dr Silvia Serrao-Neumann, $211,346 for their project Being On Country Off Country.

Prof Alexander Brown and Prof Paula Brough, $457,800 for their project Protecting while they prosper? Organisational responses to whistleblowing.

Prof Huib Schippers, A/Prof Brydie-Leigh Bartleet, Prof Scott Harrison and Prof Paul Draper, $222,515 for their project Making Music Work: Sustainable Portfolio Careers for Australian Musicians.

A/Prof Brydie-Leigh Bartleet, Dr Naomi Sunderland and Prof Heidi Muenchberger, $208,215 for their project Creative Barkly: Sustaining the arts & cultural sector in remote Australia.

Prof David Lambert, Dr Subashchandran Sankarasubramanian and Dr Michael Westaway, $570,000 for their project Investigating Holocene India – Australia Connections using Ancient Genomics.

Prof Yongsheng Gao, Dr Andrew Busch and Dr Jun Zhou, $406,000 for their project Precise recognition for automated harvesting and grading of strawberries.

Prof Sharyn Rundle-Thiele, Dr Denni Arli and Dr Krysztof Kubacki, $234,000 for their projectChanging Australian Drinking: A comprehensive social marketing program.

Prof David Lloyd, Prof Rod Barrett and Dr Daniel James, $430,000 for their project Intelligent training (iTraining) for the human Achilles tendon.