A new agreement for Australia-China Tourism research

Vice Chancellor, Professor Ian O’Connor and
Professor Ning Bin, President, Beijing Jiaotong University
Members of the visiting delegation with
Griffith University representatives.

A delegation from Beijing Jiaotong University visited Griffith in May to sign a Memorandum of Understanding between the new Griffith Institute for Tourism (GIFT) and the World Cities Tourism Research Centre based at Beijing Jiaotong University. Vice Chancellor, Professor Ian O’Connor and Professor Ning signed the agreement and discussed collaborations in tourism, environment, energy, research, student and faculty exchange.

The Griffith Institute for Tourism believes the new agreement will help expand their existing China tourism research program, and provide new opportunities to explore joint research and the growing China tourism market.

“Tourism within the Asia-Pacific is becoming an increasingly important part of the region’s economy” said Professor Noel Scott from the Griffith Institute for Tourism. “Collaborating with regional partners is invaluable for helping us gain an inside perspective of emerging tourism trends.”

The delegation included: Professor Ning Bin, President, Beijing Jiaotong University, Professor Jiang Jiuchun, Dean, School of Electrical Engineering, Professor Zhao Peng, School of Transportation, Professor Zhang Zhenji, Deputy Dean, School of Economics and Management and Mr Lyu Chao, Officer, International Cooperation & Exchange.

Joining Professor O’Connor from Griffith was Professor Michael Powell, Pro Vice Chancellor (Business), Professor Sarah Todd, Pro Vice Chancellor (International), Professor David Lambert, Dean, Research, Griffith Sciences, Associate Professor Peter Woods, Director (International), Office of the Pro Vice Chancellor (Business), Professor Noel Scott, Griffith Institute for Tourism, Dr Peiyi Ding, Deputy Director, Tourism Confucius Institute and Ms Gayle Murray, Manager, International Relations.