Six students win Prime Minister’s Awards

Janna Mallon, Bachelor of Communications student and winner of a 2013 Prime Minister's Australia Asia Scholarship.

Six Griffith University students have received the prestigious Prime Minister’s Australia Asia Scholarships as a part of the Endeavour awards program.

Griffith Vice Chancellor Professor Ian O’Connor, said it was a great achievement for the students and another proud moment for the University to celebrate in their success at qualifying for these awards.

The successful candidates are April Broadbent (Policy Studies), Emi Christensen (International Law), Janna Mallon (Policy Studies), Lucinda Nitschinsk (Transport Engineering), Julien Rosendahl (Economics) and thepostgraduate scholarship candidate was awarded to Andrew Monaghan (Urban Design and Regional Planning).

“It’s another year of great outcomes for Griffith at the Endeavour awards, with five successful undergraduate candidates and one postgraduate,” said Professor O’Connor.

“Griffith has again received the maximum number of awards in the undergraduate scholarship program, which is a credit to the performance of these students in order to qualify in such a competitive program.”

The Prime Minister’s Australia Asia Outgoing Scholarships provide financial support for Australian undergraduate and postgraduate students to undertake study or research in Asia towards qualification by coursework or research, in any field of study.

The aim of the Scholarship is to develop internationally-aware, skilled future leaders and establish enduring education and professional linkages.

Griffith University will also play host to thirteen international Endeavour Scholarship and Fellowship recipients in 2014.

Included among the list of awards is the Prime Minister’s Australia Asia Incoming Postgraduate Scholarship which has been awarded to Ms Lizhou Liu from Chengdu University of Traditional Chinese Medicine in the People’s Republic of China.