Awards honour stellar alumni

The outstanding achievements of Arts, Education and Law alumni were recognised at a special awards ceremony recently.

ARIA award-winning singer Katie Noonan won the 2012 AEL Alumnus of the year and teacher and NAIDOC Youth of the Year winner Kiel Williams-Weigel was awarded the AEL Young Alumnus of the Year.

School winners

Griffith Law School — Senator Larissa Waters

Education and Professional Studies — Professor Peter O’Connor

Queensland College of Art — Michael Zavros

Griffith Film School — Angie Fielder

Humanities — Dr Janet Marles

Languages & Linguistics — James Lamond

Criminology & Criminal Justic — Miria Bastock