Health professionals scale excellent heights

Griffith University’s Academic and Clinical Excellence Awards acknowledge the sterling efforts of health professionals who share their knowledge and know-how in the education of future health professionals.

The 2011 presentation ceremony, hosted by the School of Medicine at the Centre for Medicine and Oral Health at the Gold Coast, brought awards and plaudits for the following:

Hospital Teaching Awards

Gold Coast Hospital Teaching Award — Harry McConnell (Mental Health)

Logan Hospital Teaching Award — Charles Nankivell (Surgery)

Tweed Hospital Teaching Award – Basil Buntting (Mental Health)

Wesley Hospital Teaching Award — Bruce Lewis (Children’s Health)

Departmental Awards

Gold Coast Hospital — Emergency Department (Dr Lauren Stephenson)

Logan Hospital — Emergency Department (Dr Stuart Young)

Tweed Hospital — Medicine Department (Associate Professor Ibrahim Abdool)

Wesley Hospital – Aged Cancer Care Department (Bruce Lewis)

School of Medicine Awards

Clinical Skills Facilitator — Kwong Chan

PBL (Problem Based Learning) Facilitator — Lakal Dissabandara

SOM Academic — Lakal Dissabandra

Administrative Teaching — Maxine Hughes

Excellence in Teaching, Most Popular Teaching Member — Gary Rogers

Clinical Skills Actor — Marc Meeuwssen

Research Awards

Best First Author Publication — Roy Beran (for article on chronic daily headache)

Best Collaborative Publication, Original Research — Simon Broadley, pictured (for T-cell pathways in Multiple Sclerosis)

Best Guideline or Review Article — Glenn Francis (for best guideline recommendations, receptors testing in breast cancer)

Excellence in Original Research, Academic Researcher — Paul Scuffham (for excellence in health economics research)

Excellence Original Research, Academic Title Holder — Rohan Jayasinghe (for excellence in cardiology research)

Excellence Original Research, Early Career, Non Clinical — Tracy Comans (for excellence in health economics research)

Excellence Original Research, Early Career, Clinical — Cullen O’Corman (for excellence in neurology research)

Best Research Presentation — Cullen O’Gorman